Schultz Masters Sandusky & Weather at Opener

Charlie Shultz wins MSA openerOn a day that looked like it may never see a green flag May Motorsports driver Charlie Schultz took command in the early stages and bested the field to win the 2010 season opening Midwest Supermodified Association (MSA) 30 lap feature race at Sandusky Speedway (OH) last Saturday night. Coming from his ninth starting position in his bright red trademark No. 7 Schultz sailed to the front in dominating fashion setting a torrid pace to get his first checkered flag of the new season. Defending MSA Champion Timmy Jedrzejek finished second followed by the Steve Stout teammates of Trent Stephens third and “Liquid” Lou Cicconi fourth as the May Motorsports No. 77 with Tim Ice aboard rounded out the top five.

“When they first threw the green the car felt pretty good,” said the race winner. “After we got that little bit of a run there under green I thought this car feels pretty loose. We had the red flag and the car set there long enough that the stager closed up to where I wanted it. Then on the restart I was able to get on the outside in the clean air and the car was just really, really good,” finished Schultz.

After a three hour track drying process between the heat races and the feature race veteran racers Jon Henes and Jack Smith brought the field to the green flag and start of the MSA season. Smith would lead the first handful of laps which included just two caution periods, one of which went red for the upturned car of Rich Reid. No injuries reported and no serious equipment damage was reported and racing resume going to the checkers non-stop from that point. By lap five Schultz was out moving while in front Timmy J was also setting sail for the leaders. Once Shultz got to Timmy J they ran side by side for two laps until Shultz cleared the Champion setting sail for leader Smith. The horsepower showed as Schultz went to the point and wore out the rest of the field with blinding speed on a track he is very familiar with. Smith faded to sixth followed by Randy Burch, Jon Henes, Bobby Dawson, and Rich Reid rounded out the top ten.

“Opening night, we had some problems in the heat race,” said Timmy J. “We’ll take home second place and tip our hats over to No. 7 team, they were awful strong tonight. We’ll go back to the shop, see what we got, and bring out a better machine than last time,” finished the series Champion. 14 Supermodifieds were in the pit on opening night as Cicconi set fast time of 14.873 around the northern Ohio oval. Heat winners included Brandon Fisher and Schultz.

Follow Charlie throughout the 2010 season!