ARCA Columbus 75 Post Race Notes

Shawn Szep Wins at ColumbusObetz, OH (July 23rd, 2016) – Szep didn’t lead his first lap until his 19th event (in his third season). He only had eight top fives in that same amount of time (he now has 31). And he didn’t win his first Carmen’s Vacuum Pole award until his fifth full season…that’s 44 races (he now holds the record for five in a row and six total in seven races…not counting the rain at Lake County last year). And to top that off, the Marysville, Ohio resident didn’t get to visit a Lincoln Welders Victory Lane until his 38th event.

He now currently holds the mark for best start in the first six races in series history. Danny Jackson in his championship year of 2014 won the first three races, finished fourth in the next, won the fifth one, then placed third in the sixth whereas Szep won the first two, placed second in the next and has won the next three! And by leading lap seven at Columbus, he tied the record  for most laps led in a row at seven and shares that with Chad Poorman’s 2012 year and last year’s championship campaign of Jeff Myers, Jr. (both of the latter set those marks in one season whereas Szep led one race last year and six this year. But it’s safe to say this weekend at Angola he will probably lead again and own the record outright at eight while tying it for one season).

Shawn Szep Wins at ColumbusSo some will say, “he’s cheating”. “He’s got a V8”. “He’s got the Hanger 18 chassis”. “He’s got a four-barrel”. Or maybe they’ve just done their homework; they’re using the rulebook to their advantage, and are winning, because Shawn Szep is basically rewriting the ARCA Truck Series record book! As the old saying goes, “he’s an overnight success…but it’s been the longest night of his life!

Oh and one more thing: with his eighth win he moves into a tie with Robbin Slaughter and Nick Gullatta for fourth on the all-time ARCA Truck Series win list. The only drivers in front of them are leader Paul Hahn at 29, Danny Jackson 24 and Brett Rowe with 11 (all three are champions)...

View the full article on the ARCA Truck Racing website

Shawn Szep Wins at Columbus